Unemployed is the new… employed.

Ready to dive back into the working world...

Ready to dive back into the working world...

When I started this blog a short month and a half ago, uncertainty filled its “pages”.  All I knew was I needed an outlet for my thoughts, a platform in which to voice my concerns and ultimately, a place where I wouldn’t feel so alone.  Gobbled up and spit out by this big, bad world, I was searching for a place to call home.  Luckily, some of you stuck around for the journey.  It was your words, your encouragement and finally your strange urge to wander over to my blog that brightened my days.

As I write this, the last chapter in ‘Unemployed is the New Pink [Slip]’, it’s only fitting that I part with some lessons learned, observations, of the unemployed life.  And so it begins…

I’ve learned the simple pleasures in life provide the most joy.  An afternoon nap, an old favorite episode of 90210, a good [much needed] laugh from a surprising source, snow days and primetime marathons — all these “little things” brightened up my days more than any promotion or paycheck ever could.

Being unemployed is the perfect opportunity to “look up at the world”. While zipping around the city from one interview to another, I learned more and appreciated more about New York City than in the previous 8 months of “living” here.  

Interviewing is a lot like dating.  From googling your employer before the first date and evaluating your list of qualifications,  to putting together that quintessential first outfit, doing your best “first impression” and running through the gamut of first date questions, dating itself should qualify as job experience.   

Finally,  I’ve realized that my place in the world is much more than my job.  It’s my role as a roommate, daughter, sister and friend.  While my job gives me somewhere to be, a passion to fulfill, provides structure and variety to my days, it does not define who I am.  It is just one piece of a larger puzzle.  When you’re counting pennies, you have no time to worry about the latest hot spot, the newest fashion trend or weekend getaways. Aside from a smattering of employers, the only person you have to impress is yourself.  As a matter of fact, I think we could all learn a bit from living the unemployed life…

Leave a Reply

